20 Years Later: ‘Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World’ movie review

A review that no one wants… (okay maybe I’m being a bit harsh)

Pocahontas 2 is a straight-to-video (Disneytoon Studios) sequel that came out in 1998, 3 years after the first film.

I honestly strongly disliked this sequel and I am normally that kind of person who does love disney sequels! I loved Mulan 2, I also loved Lady and the Tramp 2, 101 Dalmatians II, just to name a few.

But before I begin… Who the heck is this John Rolfe guy and where is my John Smith!! *clears throat*

John Rolfe in Pocahontas 2; via DisneyToon Studios

Okay let’s begin with my review!

Pocahontas 2’s story starts off with John Smith who goes missing after soldiers try to capture him on charges of treason that was made up by Gov. Radcliffe. Pocahontas hears rumours that John Smith is indeed dead and is devastated by the news and in the meantime she must go on a voyage to England as an Ambassador alongside John Rolfe.

With Pocahontas 2 being about 72 minutes (Of which seemed longer) and it seems to contradict everything that was in the first film. Plus Pocahontas didn’t have the same personality as she did in the first and I strongly disliked how they tried to ‘tame’ her in such ways. The songs itself weren’t so catchy apart from Where Do I Go From Here? As well as the short reprise version! Sung by the amazing Judy Kuhn (I am glad they brought her back for the sequel!)

via Disneytoon Studios

But one thing that really dislike about the story of the movie is how they changed it to be more true to the historical facts of Pocahontas and somewhat trying to wipe out that the first Pocahontas movie never existed as well as the beloved character John Smith.

I understand the movie wasn’t overwhelmingly successful and a lot of people have stated that they disliked how Disney recreated Pocahontas and her story and not keeping it real or true to the historical events, but that’s what Disney does! Just like the fairytale story’s of Cinderella, Snow White and Rapunzel (just to name a few) If you ever read their versions, they are quite gruesome and there’s a lot that Disney wouldn’t allow in their movies! So of course Disney cuts things out and changes them to fit their audience, and I believe there’s people out there like me (I hope) that goes out and seeks the original story to see how much it differs from Disney’s.

I admit I didn’t really know much of Pocahontas historically before Disney, but after the film I did do some research and I have so much respect for her as a person as I do with the native Americans.

But speaking with historical terms the second Pocahontas is more true to the actual Pocahontas, while John Smith was a real person as well as John Rolfe, what happens in The first Pocahontas movie isn’t what actually happens, yes she does meet John Smith and it is written that Pocahontas did indeed save his life (as shown in the first film) but yet again some historians have theories whether Smith may have misunderstood what was happening at that point of time or that’s it might have been some kind of ceremony of some kind.

But it is true in Pocahontas 2 she does indeed marry John Rolfe, but Pocahontas’s history is truly an interesting read and sadly she did have a hard and short life.

John Rolfe and Pocahontas; via Disneytoon Studios

Although reviewing the second movie, yes I’m my opinion it did have flaws but I do admit it was really good to see Pocahontas, Meeko and Percy again! I absolutely love the first movie and I believe it isn’t necessary to watch the sequel. As I wrote previously it does change what was said or done in the first movie, it has a lot of contradictions, character’s personalities change somewhat and what they say and do in the second movie isn’t what they would of said/done in the first, plus the soundtrack (which only consists of 5 songs).

I do give Disney credit on trying to make it based more on the historical side by they already made and released the first movie.

via Disneytoon Studios
MEH
Meh!

Pocahontas 2 in my opinion can be skipped, it had a couple of good songs/scenes but nothing like the first movie. Although there may be people out there who actually like it and I give them my respect for that. It is probably something I won’t rewatch very much or even at all.

Happy 20 years Pocahontas 2!

Emoji provided by Megaloarts


Leave a comment